The proof is in the pudding.

Or the reading, in this case.

I’ve always heard others saying that there is no better feeling than holding a solid, physical copy of your own book, and I can now say I agree wholeheartedly. It’s almost enough to make you feel like a proper author!

The paperback proof of Traitors of Sol arrived yesterday, in a pretty hefty package. The sound it made as it hit the floor after falling through the letterbox was slightly concerning, but after a quick check of the structural stability of my house I turned my attention back to the book. As I’m sure you can imagine, it did not take me two minutes to tear it open.

Although it’s wise to never judge a book by its cover, it’s also the first thing that prospective readers will see. It’s got to be bold, and it’s got to tell the reader exactly what they are getting. I was very pleased with the quality of the cover print, and I feel it did my artist justice. The colours seem to pop out, and images and blurb are crisp and distinctive. Take a look, hopefully you’ll agree. (Apologies for the image quality, the camera I used isn’t exactly top of the range).

20170527_121954 20170527_122005

Of course, no book would be complete without readable font and quality paper. I’ve looked through the pages, and scoured it for printing mistakes and other errors but I must say I am very pleased with the result. The lettering is clear on every page, and the printer has handled it very well.

20170527_122036

Overall, I’m very pleased with the results of using Createspace. This is the first time I’ve used them, and not only is the process intuitive and easy to grasp, the book feels substantial, it reads easily, and the formatting has come out exactly how it was uploaded. If there is any other writer thinking of taking the plunge, hopefully this help with your decision – feel free to drop me a message if you want to go a bit more detailed too!

Traitors of Sol is released worldwide in paperback and ebook format on 31st July 2017. For a chance of winning one of ten signed copied, follow the link below.

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Traitors of Sol by J.  Porteous

Traitors of Sol

by J. Porteous

Giveaway ends July 31, 2017.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

 

Leave a Reply

